In the News

Leadership Southern Maryland Class of 2022 Experiences Education in Southern Maryland

LEONARDTOWN, Md. – December 10, 2021: On December 2, 2021, the Leadership Southern Maryland (LSM) Class of 2022 participated in the fourth of nine educational sessions for the LSM Executive Program. This session’s topic was education in the region. 

The session was held at St. Charles High School in Waldorf, Maryland and began with remarks from Dr. David Steiner, executive director of Johns Hopkins Institute for Education Policy. This was followed by a panel discussion on the long-haul implications of COVID-19 on education. The class also had an opportunity to further explore pandemic learning during a question and answer session with high school students from both public and private schools in the tri-county area.

The latter part of the program session featured Southern Maryland leaders in education. Executive Program participants met with the superintendents from Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties as well as the presidents of College of Southern Maryland and St. Mary’s College of Maryland and the executive director of University System of Maryland at Southern Maryland. This allowed for discussion of critical topics including school funding, teacher retention, and how community members can better support education. The group rounded out their education session experience with a field trip to the James E. Richmond Science Center.

Leadership Southern Maryland’s flagship Executive Program is a nine-month, tuition-based program that educates and inspires a diverse group of mid- to upper-level executive leaders creating opportunities for collaborations and partnerships impacting the community needs of Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties ensuring a cross-section of the region including diversity of geographic location, profession, ethnicity, and gender. 

For more information, please contact Denise Foster, executive director, Leadership Southern Maryland, 301-862-7663, via email or visit

Pictured left to right: Dr. Eileen Abel, Executive Director, University System of MD at Southern Maryland; Dr. Maureen Murphy, President, College of Southern Maryland; Dr. Tuajuanda Jordan, President, St. Mary’s College of Maryland; Dr. Maria Navarro, Superintendent, Charles County Public Schools; Dr. Daniel Curry, Superintendent, Calvert County Public Schools; Dr. James Scott Smith, Superintendent, St. Mary’s County Public Schools